When you first create your Hubdoc account, there will be no folders. Once you add your first automated connection or upload a document manually, you will see a "Bills & Statements" (automated connections) or "Uploads" (manual uploads) folder appear.
Whether your documents have been automatically fetched or manually uploaded into Hubdoc, documents will be sorted into sub-folders by supplier name. For manually uploaded documents, supplier folders will not appear until documents have successfully gone through our data extraction process.
When Hubdoc extracts the key data from a new document, with a new supplier, it will automatically create a folder and auto-file the document within it. The extracted supplier name is used to name the folder. If there are multiple accounts associated with the supplier (a bank with a saving and chequing account for example) Hubdoc will automatically create sub-folders within the primary folder. The next time a document is auto-fetched or uploaded to Hubdoc, and it recognizes the supplier name, it will auto-file the document within the appropriate folder.
You can add, rename, delete, and move folders according to your preferred configurations, and these will be saved on a going-forward basis. However, please note that if you are adding an automated connection or uploading documents from a new supplier for the first time, Hubdoc will push these into a "Bills & Statements" or "Uploads" folder. This means that if you have renamed or deleted these folders previously, new ones will be created.
Note: Deleting folders does not delete the connection or the supplier from your list of automated and manual accounts. To delete suppliers, or merge duplicate suppliers please see the article: How Does Auto-File Work?