Small Business Permissions – Error Messages

Summary: Learn why you may be encountering an error message when attempting to enable small business permissions for some users. 

Overview: 

  • Changing permissions – error message: “This user’s permissions cannot be changed”
  • Adding a user – error message: “This user can only be added as an Accountant/Bookkeeper”
  • Paying for a client – error message: “This user already exists and is of a type that cannot be added to a subscription”
  • Managing accounting/bookkeeping staff – error message: “This user already exists and is of a type that cannot be added to your practice”

With Small Business Permissions, new users can be added to a business’ Hubdoc organization with defined roles (Upload Only, Standard, or Accountant/Bookkeeper) – see here for more information. Existing users who have been previously added to a business’ Hubdoc organization can also have their permissions modified.

However, there are a few exceptions where users cannot be added or have their permissions modified – please learn more about these particular cases by reviewing the error messages you might encounter below. 

Changing permissions – error message: “This user’s permissions cannot be changed”

This error message will appear when attempting to update the permissions for a collaborator who already has access to your Hubdoc organization.

An existing collaborator cannot have their permissions modified if they:

  1. Are using a Hubdoc partner account (i.e., an account for accounting and bookkeeping practices).
  2. Are paying for their own Hubdoc organization or other Hubdoc organizations.
  3. Have documents, integrations, or automated connections set up in their own Hubdoc organization.

If a user meets any of the above criteria, their user permissions cannot be changed or modified – they can either remain as users with complete access to the organization, or have their access entirely revoked.

Adding a user – error message: “This user can only be added as an Accountant/Bookkeeper”

This error message will appear when attempting to add a collaborator (who already has access to your Hubdoc organization) as an “Upload Only” or “Standard” user role.

An existing collaborator cannot be added as “Upload Only” or “Standard” if they:

  1. Are using a Hubdoc partner account (i.e., an account for accounting and bookkeeping practices)
  2. Are paying for their own Hubdoc organization or other Hubdoc organizations
  3. Have documents, integrations, or automated connections set up in their own Hubdoc organization

Please reach out to Hubdoc Support if you have any additional questions about adding existing collaborators with modified permissions.

Paying for a client – error message: “This user already exists and is of a type that cannot be added to a subscription”

If you navigate to your accounting/bookkeeping practice’s Hubdoc organization, then click the gear icon > Billing & Information > Add a Client, you can enter the email address of an existing user to add them as a client and start paying for their Hubdoc account.

However, existing users cannot be added as clients if they have already been added to a small business’ Hubdoc organization with the Upload Only or Standard role. 

Managing accounting/bookkeeping staff – error message: “This user already exists and is of a type that cannot be added to your practice”

If you navigate to your accounting/bookkeeping practice’s Hubdoc Organizations Page > Manage Users > Add New User, you can enter the email address of an existing user to add them as a staff member at your accounting or bookkeeping practice.

However, existing users cannot be added as staff at your accounting or bookkeeping practice if they have already been added to a small business’ Hubdoc organization with the Upload Only or Standard role.

To learn more about user permissions, enroll in our free course.



Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Questions? Get in touch with our Support Team.